[Story] You discover that what happens to your game character, happens to you

I met Kathy Newbie in the park on a bright summer’s day. The name triggered a feeling of deja vu, but I pushed it to the back of my mind.

We hit it off right away, and I managed to talk her into a coffee date the next day. We talked for hours, and before I knew it, we were a couple. A match made in heaven, our friends called us.

Flash forward several years and we’re married now. I’ve received several promotions and so we bought ourselves a house, a nice big one with a swimming pool and all. Life was grand.

Until one day, things suddenly changed. I’d come home some days to found her gone, and she wouldn’t tell me where she had been. One day I came home early, only to find her calling out: ‘Oh, Greg!’ I caught her in bed with this ‘Greg’, threw him out in a jealous rage and stormed out the door myself.

I went to the usual place I’d go to calm down: the swimming pool. Dove in to swim laps, cool myself off a bit.

When I calmed, I realised I was having that deja vu again, and this time I knew where it was coming from.

Kathy and Greg. I’d called my Sims that. Had them do exactly what just happened to me, when I’d grown bored with her first husband. And then I’d…

Just then, the pool ladder fell into the pool, and sunk to the bottom. The pool was too low-set to climb out without it.

Shit.


The title and inspiration for this story are from reddit.com/r/writingprompts

 

Leave a Reply

