[Story] God exists, but isn’t all powerful. He hasn’t contacted humanity since he realised people expected an afterlife and he can’t figure out how to make one.

My wife cried by my beside; long, wracking sobs that tore at my heart.

“It’s alright, my love, I’m going to a better place. I love you.”

“I love you – hiccup – too, David . I’ll be with you soon.”

I passed away with a peaceful smile on my face.

And woke to the sounds of frantic hammering and sawing.

“Oh hey, you’re up,” said a deep male voice that inspired a feeling of peace. Before me was a bearded man in a red flannel shirt and jeans. He was hammering in fence posts while around him, some angels were sawing more posts, and one was gluing what I think were pearls to the little wooden gate.

“God?”

“Yeah, sorry about the mess up here, been working for centuries to get this place up and running. Pete here can give you the tour.” God cocked his head and looked to His left. “PETE! WE’VE GOT ANOTHER SOUL!”

An older man in blue flannel came running from the distance. In a huff of lost breath he said “Welcome..to heaven..Dave. Let me..show you.. around.”

I followed him as he proudly showed me all the work being done around the ‘afterlife’. There was a line of tiny trees, and stumps of the old ones that had been logged for building. Houses were being built all around too, little rough huts for the most part. Pete told me the more established houses were the long term residents.

“So…what do you think?” God asked, when we returned.

“It’s, uh…great! Yeah, really great ” I lied. He had such hope in his eyes.

“Great! If you’d like, I can get an angel to start building a house for you..it could be just a decade or two though, we have a bit of backlog. More souls every day, after all.”

I thought about my wife…my dear wife, coming to this place so soon. She had such high hopes, too, for the afterlife.

“I’ve got a better idea. You got any spare tools?”


 

Based on a writing prompt from reddit

2 thoughts on “[Story] God exists, but isn’t all powerful. He hasn’t contacted humanity since he realised people expected an afterlife and he can’t figure out how to make one.

Leave a Reply

