[Story] “The gods have abandoned us!” “No, we haven’t”

“This is Geoffrey Green with the Channel 6 News, live from Las Vegas. Breaking news this evening, as it appears that an asteroid is on course for a collision right in the centre of the city. We are told that the asteroid is large enough to destroy the entire city of Las Vegas. I believe I am right in saying that the gods have truly abandoned us.”

“I HAVE NOT.”

“What? Did anyone else hear that?”

Offscreen several voices agree

“Who said that?”

“ME.”

The reporter’s knees failed him and he fell to kneel. “God?”

“THE ONE AND ONLY.”

“Why have you abandoned us?”

“I HAVE NOT ABANDONED YOU.”

Geoffrey sighed with relief.

“I HAVE JUST RETURNED. TWO THOUSAND YEARS OF SLUMBER, AND NOW I SHALL PASS JUDGEMENT ON YOUR ‘LAS VEGAS’.”

“Oh, god damn it.”

“I SHALL.”

 


I’m back! Now inspired by posts from /r/WritingPrompts at Reddit, so stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

