I Miss You – Snippet

She held a piece of crumpled paper in her hands, staring at it with a blank look. As I came closer, she looked up at me.

“What’s that?” I asked. She handed it to me without a word.

—-

I don’t know why I’m still writing… So this will be my last letter to you.

I miss you, after all this time.

I can’t even remember your face anymore; I read the way I described you in the beginning, but the pieces don’t fit together for me…

I never did tell you while you were around, but I loved you…I still do, but without you around, I’ll have to move on and find out who I am without you. -Erin

On her lap lay the envelope it came in; I could just make out the red edge of a “Return to sender” stamp.


 

Author’s Note: Just a snippet of writing today, originally meant for a full-length story but I’m not sure it will ever come to be. I liked this bit, and had to write it, so here it is anyway.

Leave a Reply

