Caught

My breath started to come in shorter and harder, hurting my chest. I sprinted across the hard dirt road as fast as I could, but I could hear him close behind me.

I headed towards the house; maybe I can hide somewhere inside. I pulled open the door with some difficulty and ran inside. He was but steps behind so I shut the door to buy a few seconds.

Deciding my turns through the corridors at random, I thought I had lost him… But suddenly I felt his presence, and not long after that came the heavy footsteps. A choice, turn left or go straight. I went left.

A dead end.

I huddled up in the corner, hoping he didn’t see me turn, but it wasn’t likely.

I jumped at the hand on my shoulder.

“Tag. You’re it!”

Leave a Reply

